Thursday, July 27, 2017

something from the archives: say goodbye - part 30

so it's the halfway point, as far as i remember. i have only found up to part 51 archived elsewhere online, but i'm pretty sure there were 60 (maybe even 62) chapters of this particular fic. it's the longest thing i've ever written. and you guys, this is still not everything. i don't know what i'll do when my archive material runs dry.

check out parts 12345678910111213141516171819202122232425262728, and 29. read on for part 30...


Wednesday, July 26, 2017

superbly suspenseful: say no more by liliana hart

the mysterious dante malcolm leads up say no more, the third book in the gravediggers series. unlike deacon and elias, dante has held himself apart from the team even as he is clearly a vital part of it. the reasons for this become clear early on in the novel.

dante has special skills, he was an mi6 agent, but also a thief in his previous life. so part of his role within the gravediggers team is also to run side missions for their boss, eve. the thing is, dante's past life is still very much alive for him. giving up his career, both legitimate and illegitimate was one thing, but it was giving up the great love of his life that still haunts him.

olivia rothschild is no stranger to tragedy and loss. losing dante, someone who had lied and betrayed her was one thing. another was losing her identical twin sister, who was kidnapped when they were 6 and was never recovered. liv has made it her career to find her sister, joining interpol right out of school, and when dante's betrayal cast a pall on her career it was more than his lies that she found unforgivable. but when a human trafficking case puts her on a collision course with dante's latest side project for eve. all the secrets dante has been keeping are about to come out into the open.

i liked dante and liv's story, its a true second chance at love romance with a good amount of suspense added in. the one issue i had was that there was a lot of setup about who dante was and how he and liv got together, but not enough time was spent on reconciliation. not between liv and dante or dante and his team members. things ended where i hoped they would, so it's fine. but i think that one thing the darkest corner did that worked so well was set up this underlying tension between eve and the gravediggers and what the mission is truly. and while there is still some of that, the individual suspense plot gets more airtime that the suspense plot that overarches the series. and that's fine, it's just that i think the first book did a better job of balancing this than the subsequent books have, and i hope that the next books—i'm assuming levi and axel will get their own stories—will balance it better. i think it's also because i like the way the team works together, and even though they finally got there in this one, there is still residual tension from dante's revelations that aren't fully dealt with and they were all separated into different pairings. anyway, i like the gravediggers, i want to see more of them.

**say no more published on july 25, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/gallery, threshold, pocket books (pocket books) in exchange for my honest review. read on for more information on the novel and the series...


seriously romantic: tease me tonight by jules court

this novella finds er nurse elizabeth owen getting all tangled up with easygoing firefighter, will macgregor. elizabeth isn't really looking for a relationship. orphaned just before she was set to go to college, she instead stuck around and raised her little sister. now experiencing a sort of empty nest, the last thing elizabeth wants in tease me tonight is anything serious.

who can blame her for wanting to be young or play the field? except willis one of those rare guys actively looking for the one. he wants to settle down. he's seen his parents' enduring love and marriage his whole life, and he wants that for himself. and when he connects with elizabeth he really believes she might be it.

just his luck that the one girl in boston not looking for a relationship is the one he happens to be interested in. the thing is things have always come easily to will. but if he really wants something with elizabeth he is going to have to fight for it. this is a novella so things move at a pretty fast clip, but the story here is enjoyable and satisfying.

**tease me tonight will release on july 31, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/carina press in exchange for my honest review. 

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

strictly literary: under the parisian sky by alli sinclair


under the parisian sky is the story of two ballerinas—lily johannson and viktoriya budian. in a contemporary setting lily is still recovering from a horrific car accident that destroyed her future career and killed her fiancé. in the past viktoriya struggles with life in france after fleeing russia and the bolsheviks. 

we are meant to draw parallels between lily and viktoriya, and their lives are in some ways connected. but while viktoriya's is imbued with a melancholy hopelessness—i was always waiting for everything to fall apart. and it does. with lily you can see that there is a reason to be hopeful, and that a huge part of that lies with yves rousseau and his insistence in being with her and helping her and letting her help him. 

if you like adriana trigiani, then you will like this. it's not really my cup of tea, but it's well-researched and written, so i can appreciate it. 

**under the parisian sky will publish on july 25, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/kensington books (lyrical press) in exchange for my honest review. 

seriously romantic: one true pairing by cathy yardley

hailey frost is in a tough spot, her family's bookstore is failing and she's working two jobs and stretched too thin to have much of a personal life. then she meets jake reese who is somehow even in a tighter spot, hiding behind the counter from some aggressive super fans at the coffee shop she works at. she helps him out not knowing that this small interaction will change everything in one true pairing.

after all it's jake reese, up-and-coming hollywood actor, currently he's starring on a sci-fi/fantasy show mystic on basic cable. his father—hollywood royalty, kurt windlass—has bigger ideas for him, and jake is really just a down-to-earth, sweetheart of a guy has no idea how much his father is interfering in his career. jake is up for contract renewal, and all he wants to do is sign on for more seasons of a show he really loves. he isn't in it for the money or the fame, he loves his job.

when jake is told by his agent that he needs to up his q factor, hailey comes up with a plan. she'll act as his girlfriend in exchange for him appearing at her family's bookstore that they are in the process of remodeling. the timeline here is pretty constrained, everything happens in a matter of days so if instalove/lust type books aren't your thing, you might be annoyed by this.

i found jake super charming, and was really rooting for him. hailey is a bit more prickly, but her baggage informs who she is, and once she starts letting jake in, you really do understand why she is the way she is. this was a fun, enjoyable read. perfect material for some time on the beach.

**one true pairing will publish on july 25, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/st. martin's press (swerve) in exchange for my honest review. read on for more information on the novel including an excerpt...


seriously romantic: too scot to handle by grace burrowes


the second book in the windham brides series, too scot to handle, picks up where the trouble with dukes left off. lady anwen and lord colin find themselves perfectly matched in this lovely regency.

lord colin is currently the heir to a dukedom, though he expects his brother's future children to actually inherit. nonetheless he is recently titled, is very wealthy and has set about trying to fit in with london society. but as time has gone on, he finds that london society isn't all that wonderful. the young men are spoiled and entitled and don't do anything productive. the young ladies simper and flirt to secure husbands. he's not actively looking for a wife. he just wants to be challenged by something.

he finds lady anwen intriguing. she's more than just a debutante. she cares deeply about london's poor, particularly the children. she's smart and funny and kind. most of all, when they talk to each other, it's not in society's coded language. they talk and it's for real. it's not about the weather or the latest gossip. and lady anwen is delighted to find that not only can she expect lord colin to listen and advise her like a peer, he also respects her insight and opinions and isn't ashamed to ask her for advice.

and while there is some drama and intrigue surrounding the home for wayward urchins that anwen and colin both sponsor, there are no ridiculous roadblocks or falling outs requiring grand gestures in this romance, and honestly, i really to appreciate that. lord colin and lady anwen's feelings are never in doubt. and they couldn't be more perfect for each other if they tried.

**too scot to handle will publish on july 25, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/grand central publishing (forever) in exchange for my honest review. read on for more information, including where to buy.


Monday, July 24, 2017

seriously romantic: the importance of being scandalous by kimberly bell

in the importance of being scandalous, nicholas wakefield has loved amelia bishop since, well, since forever. but they've also been best of friends since forever. away from england in part to grow up, in part to come to terms with his feelings, nick is intent on revealing all to mia and hoping for the best.

except she's about to announce her engagement to someone else. the thing about mia is that her entire life has been shaped by her sister's disability. born in a time where birth defects were considered a mark of sinfulness, amelia's family has been shunned by polite society due to her sister's infirmity. and now mia has the chance for normalcy and her family is determined that she take it.

but when mia realizes her fiancé isn't as accepting of julia's condition as she had assumed, she realizes she cannot marry him. there's also the matter of her pesky feelings for nick to contend with. she'd thought she'd put her girlhood crush behind her when he left, but now that nick is back, her feelings have returned and they are stronger and tinglier than ever.

the problem is, no matter how hard she tries to get rid of her fiancé he isn't budging on the matter of their engagement. his single-mindedness is fascinating, because initially he doesn't seem like a terrible person, but by the end of the novel it's clear that he isn't firing on all cylinders because why would he want to be with this woman who a) doesn't want him, b) comes from a family that has been tainted through no fault of their own and c) goes out of her way to humiliate and embarrass him.

it takes a while for nick and mia to find themselves on the same page, but once they get all their feelings out in the open, things start to fall into place. one thing that i really enjoyed in this romance is the friendships that the lead characters form. it's not just nick and mia. nick and julia have their own friendship with a rich history. nick's friend jasper is a breath of fresh air, and he proves to be a good friend to both nick and mia. amelia and julia are more than sisters, they are true friends too. and even nick's brother, who one might expect to be disapproving, is supportive of his younger brother and is kind and generous. honestly, the moms are just the worst in this novel. and the fiancé who will not give up.

one thing i wanted to know more about was julia's condition. it's described as a spinal issue, and she walks with a limp. so i wondered if it was spina bifida or something similar. the version i read did not have an author's note explaining things, so perhaps it's something that is pending for a future book, or it was meant to be purposely vague.

**the importance of being scandalous will publish july 25, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (select: historical) in exchange for my honest review.

seriously romantic: an earl for the archeress by e. elizabeth watson

sometimes it's nice to change things up from the standard regency period historical. i feel like i read a lot of regency, but i really do enjoy other time periods too. and this medieval romance, an earl for the archeress, a robin hood retelling of sorts is so, so good.

i always love a good robin hood story. something about the guy who roots for and protects the underdog is so appealing. and from the moment we meet robert of huntington we are charmed. mariel crawford is less charmed, but she has plenty of reasons to be suspicious of men. her father, the sheriff of ayreshire is abusive and cruel, and she has been running and hiding from him for the last 9 months. surviving as a woman in a man's world without resorting to prostitution is something of an achievement. mariel might not be an innocent, but she's given up the life of a lady to live on her wit's and talent for archery alone.

robert recognizes mariel as a woman the moment she steps onto the playing field. and when they are the finalists and tie in the tournament he is intrigued by this woman who is his equal. not only is she his equal in archery, she is his equal in all things. and for the first time the idea of marriage doesn't seem abhorrent, even though societal rules and mariel's own wariness are huge obstacles that would need to be overcome should things ever get that far.

from the moment they meet, mariel and robert put a claim on each other. mariel tries so hard to resist it, running from robert every chance she gets. but he won't let her go. he keeps fighting for her. and the fact that he does, that he keeps her close both horrifies her and heals her the deep wounds to her psyche caused by her father's treatment of her.

everything about this romance worked for me. the stakes, the obstacles, the lead's and their chemistry all came together beautifully. rob and mari were meant to be from the moment they encountered each other at the earl's tourney, and everything they go through builds on that moment of connection in a way that feels deep and meaningful.

**an earl for the archeress will publish july 24, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (select historical) in exchange for my honest review.

Sunday, July 23, 2017

strictly literary: the inevitable collision of birdie & bash by candace ganger

the inevitable collision of birdie & bash looks like your standard contemporary ya—lighthearted, frothy, fun. except in this case judging a book by its cover will give you some serious whiplash, because this novel is heavy, sad, and tragic. though this is a love story, it probably shouldn't be.

both birdie and bash suffer some great tragedies in the month that spans the novel's timeline. and the fact that bash is inextricably linked to birdie's tragedy makes their entire relationship problematic. and bash knows this. he spends most of the time treating birdie badly, so it's hard to understand what about bash keeps her coming back.

chemistry and chemical reactions thread the narrative as a way to explain the connections between characters and events. but in the end, there is too much plot and not enough character development going on here. the sum total of all the horrible circumstances that birdie and bash are dealing with, is too much, it becomes too hard to believe that things could be that bad. or be resolved so magically.

and maybe that's the problem i had, there was so much that needed to be fixed, that when everything does blow up, the way things are solved doesn't feel earned or realistic to me.

**the inevitable collision of birdie & bash will publish on july 25, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/st. martin's press (griffin) in exchange for my honest review. 

seriously romantic: bonding games by cathryn fox

holly fairfax doesn't think this corporate retreat her boss has insisted everyone attend in bonding games will be all that valuable. she wants to go back to coding and solving problems. but she also wants a promotion and if bonding with her coworkers is part of the game she has to play in order to earn the bump in responsibilities she knows she deserves, well she will play it.

josh steele is a former seal working in the security sector. his latest assignment is to bring holly fairfax home and protect her from a threat to her life. the threat is vague and possibly made up. the fact that josh is able to go undercover at holly's company as a coworker is also totally implausible. which is the main problem of this romance. once you start pulling at threads the whole plot kind of unravels.

however, holly and josh are both compelling leads. the spark between them drives the story and the push–pull that josh feels between the duty to his job and his feelings for holly help build up the conflict more so than any external threat to holly's safety.

**bonding games will publish on july 24, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (brazen) in exchange for my honest review.

Saturday, July 22, 2017

seriously romantic: a dance with seduction by alyssa alexander

vivienne le fleur is in trouble in a dance with seduction, as a spy for the british crown she's had to lie and steal and become someone else entirely. for years, on and off, she's worked with code-breaker maximilian westwood. she finds his precision and methodological habits infuriating and can't help ruffling his feathers every chance she gets. and maximilian finds her presumptuous presence annoying and her profession with its constant intrigues abhorrent and her entire being too damn beautiful for him to be comfortable.

when she asks him for help, pays him for it actually, she's doing it for herself, not for britain. she's caught in the middle of a dangerous spy game between england and france, and her sister's safety is at risk. and as the plot around her deepens and thickens, maximilian finds himself in the middle of it. it's the last place he wants to be, except it's also the only place he wants to be. because no matter what his head tells him about vivienne not being meant for him, his heart tells him that there is no other. and he can't stop himself from wanting to protect and aid this woman no matter what.

we really get to see this relationship grow and develop as the novel progresses, and how these two souls so used to working alone find a true partnership together. they have some serious—murderous—obstacles to overcome, but the combined force of a brilliant spy and master code-breaker should be enough to turn the tide. 

**a dance with seduction will publish July 24, 2017. I received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (select historical) in exchange for my honest opinion. 

seriously romantic: my hellion, my heart by amalie howard and angie morgan

book 3 in the lords of essex series, my hellion, my heart, brings together princess irina volkonsky and lord henry radcliffe, earl of langlevit. she's loved him since she was fourteen, but hasn't seen him since a mission in france went terribly wrong for him. the trauma of his time there has made him feel disconnected from emotion and unworthy of happiness.

princess irina is in her third season as the novel opens, having spent a season in st. petersburg and turned down many a proposal, and a season in paris where she turned down many more, she's gained the reputation of being frigid and an ice princess. the truth is that she won't marry someone who she doesn't love. and she loves henry. and no other man has ever been able to meet the ideal he's set for her. and as henry does everything he can to prove that he isn't worthy of irina, she recognizes that what she feels for him is something beyond a girlhood crush. he's it for her, even if he doesn't want her.

and this is the conundrum because henry wants her desperately, but he denies it. he doesn't believe that she could love him. he doesn't believe that he can be the husband irina deserves. so much so that he'd rather enter into a sham of a marriage with his best friend's widow than consider marrying irina. it's true that henry acts like a jackass for large chunks of the novel. he both reaches for irina and pushes her away. but the kind of trauma he is suffering, the pain he endures as a result of what happened—not just physical pain, but emotional—allow you to understand why he acts that way. even if it's clear that if he allowed himself to open up to irina he'd find a way to heal.

what's wonderful about irina is that she is so strong. henry puts her through hell, and she stands strong. she knows what she wants. she knows that she deserves more than what he gives her. she makes mistakes, but she also owns them. and when she and henry are forced into a dangerous situation by someone irina has always considered a friend, she doesn't lose her head. she stays strong and courageous and faces her worst fears head on.

**my hellion, my heart will publish on july 24, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (select historical) in exchange for my honest review.

Friday, July 21, 2017

seriously romantic: chance seduction by jess dee

this is another re-release of jess dee's samhain publishing titles and the companion novel to planned seduction. i'm going to be super honest here, i liked chance seduction so much more compared to planned seduction where both main characters annoyed me like whoa.

so in chance seduction, lexi tanner is intent on meeting aj riley because she has a proposition for him. she wants him to invest in a charity project that is near and dear to her heart. he's kind of reclusive though and she's not really sure what he looks like. when she literally runs into the hottest guy she's ever met she's distracted but not for long. when she runs into the stranger in an elevator and finds herself in his arms, well, it couldn't be helped. the spark between them was that strong. and the one night of sex was extraordinary.

so imagine her horror when she finally meets aj riley and realizes that he was her hot one night stand. aj, or adam, has been trying to get over the feelings lexi arouses in him for months. that encounter in the hotel wasn't the first time he'd laid eyes on her. and even from across a room he'd known that he should stay away from her. because she had the power to break through his shell.

ever since he had suffered an indescribable loss, he'd  been living a half-life. and unsure about how to best protect his fragile heart from more pain he blows so hot and cold that lexi suffers some severe whiplash. he rejects her cruelly and then pins her to him as if letting go were an impossible task. the extent of his pain is excruciating. what he puts lexi through is excruciating. but they have that explosive chemistry. and the fact that no matter how he protests he can't seem to let her go.

and that's something. and is it enough for lexi? because even though she understands his pain and why he suffers, it's still no excuse for how hot and cold he is with her. especially not when you consider how she lays herself bare for him. it would be an easy thing to hate adam, except you see how much he suffers. i love the deep emotional connection these characters share. and how they must overcome their suffering by letting love in.

**chance seduction will publish on july 24, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled pubishing (brazen) in exchange for my honest review. 

seriously romantic: casual affair by melanie munton

bea paxton is a commitment-phobe. she also likes to be in control of most situations, mostly to ensure that she can find a way out if she needs to, but also because she gave up something important for someone else once and it turned out to be a sacrifice for the wrong reasons. an ex-boyfriend who valued her only for her connections to her father, and not because he loved her. this lesson has colored her life ever since, and she's kept men at bay, enjoying the pleasures of their company but nothing with real emotion.

when she meets zane price in casual affair, her world is thrown off-kilter. the way she reacts to him isn't normal. he puts her on edge, even as he infuriates her with his need to control every detail and decision of their project. zane finds that he can't keep away from bea. he wants her, not just in bed, he wants something more. he never really thought he'd be able to open up to anyone the way he has with bea, but he recognizes her as a flight risk. and struggles with the right amount of openness about his feelings and his own need to dominate and control everything.

the push and pull between bea and zane feels real. they both have reasons for being protective of their hearts, but those reasons are also the reason that they can connect at such a visceral level. from the moment they met, there was that spark, they were kindred spirits, and in one another there is a chance for true happiness. they just have to get past those demons.

**casual affair will publish july 24, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (brazen) in exchange for my honest review.