Thursday, May 24, 2018

something from the archives: another sunset - part 7

liz meets her old friends and still doesn't remember...

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

slightly silly: riverdale, episode thirty-five: brave new world

the season finale is upon us, and we will hopefully put this black hood mess behind us.



except now we have a southside serpent mess. and a weird deatheaters/mob mess. and hiram lodge is becoming the super big bad we always knew he was. which is what still bothers me about the episode that allegedly intimated that hermione was boss.


she's the new mayor, by about 200 votes. so fred andrews continues to be our local lovable loser and good dad. it's still weird to me that mad, bad and dangerous to know dylan mckay ended up becoming the very milquetoast fred andrews. occasionally we get hints that his past has more edge to it, but nothing is ever really revealed and so he's just white bread bland.

archie is not white bread bland, but the character is limited by his portrayer's inability to express real depth. and this mob capo storyline and the black hood stuff has not played to his strengths, other than when we get to look at his washboard abs. archie andrews is a pretty specimen for sure. and of course he is the new student council president. but he's also going to jail soooo, maybe things will get deeper and real-er for arch?

speaking of real, betty is not handling the fact that her father is a serial killer very well. polly pops by to tell us that it's not a big deal or something, but she's also trying to get alice to the farm so maybe the coopers are joining a cult next season and f.p. and jughead need to get their women out.



juggy is a-ok by the way. once cleaned up, his bruises seem to heal themselves at a remarkable pace, and f.p. retires and makes jug the serpent king and jughead makes betty his queen and i don't see how any of this will go horribly wrong next season. also cheryl is a brand new cherry red serpent. i guess because a black jacket wouldn't have suited her aesthetic? but her and toni are still going strong and i'm all for it.

anyway, let's hope season 3 has a more coherent vision.

one last thing about this episode, it's title "brave new world" refers to a movie based on a book by the same name, a science-fiction, dystopian place where people are marked from birth as to their place in society. which is on theme for riverdale. what i love about this title is that it is taken from the tempest, a moment where a sheltered character expresses her amazement at the outside world that has been thrust upon her island paradise.

"o brave new world, that has such people in it!"

see y'all next season.

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

seriously romantic: rogue royalty by meghan march

rogue royalty concludes the savage trilogy and does so with the angst and twist and turns you'd expect in a meghan march read. temperance really comes into her own in this book, taking control of her destiny, of her story in a way that allows you to appreciate all the kickass growing she's done from where she was in book one and where she is at the end of book three. which i'm not spoiling, sorry!

i continue to enjoy this darker new orleans march has created and the shadowy webs that unite these characters, new and old.

and i enjoyed this story, but i find that the mystery character thing really does impact my ability to connect with and care for the characters. i know everyone loves rix, from the beneath series, but Iistill to this day am not a huge fan. i've actually come to like him more over time as we've come to know him from appearances in subsequent books. and here, i like the hero, i really do, but he hasn't had a chance to win me over the way i was with mount, who i adore. so while this is another awesome read from one of my favorite authors, it's not going on my top five list from her. and that's okay. from what i've seen other people love love love the mystery hero stuff, but i'm also glad this isn't something she does for every book.

and can i just say the preview we get for her next one sounds so juicy, i can't wait to have a chance to get my hands on richer than sin.

**rogue royalty will publish on may 22, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of meghan march in exchange for my honest review.

Monday, May 21, 2018

strictly literary: furyborn by claire legrand

some books are harder to write about than others, not because you don't have much to say, but because to give too give away too much about the plot. furyborn is not like other books i've read before. the structure and concept are surprising and different.

the dual pov are not what you'd expect, and the story takes you on twisty paths that keep you guessing and hungry for more. and it's a good thing that there are three books meant to be in this series.

**furyborn will publish on may 22, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgally/sourcebooks fire.

Sunday, May 20, 2018

seriously romantic: hot asset by lauren layne

hot asset kicks off a wall street based trilogy for layne. someone has set the sec on ian bradley's case, even though he's innocent. they also put their most doggest agent on the case with the carrot being a letter of recommendation to the fbi.

the more digging lara does in this case she had been so convinced would be a slam dunk, and the more she gets to know ian, the worse she feels about the case. but does she trust her bosses at the sec who tell her he's guilty, or should she trust the lack of evidence and trust her gut, or should she trust the guy who is telling her he's done nothing wrong.

the heart of the relationship is watching ian and lara come to terms with the circumstances that thrust them together and figuring out how to accept that together they can have it all.

**hot asset will publish on may 22, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/montlake romance in exchange for my honest review.

Saturday, May 19, 2018

simply all about the royal wedding

truth time: i'm just enough older than wills and harry to have never fantasized about marrying either of them. but they aren't that much younger either. and i've always followed the royal family happenings with interest.

when will and kate got married i stalked all the things about their wedding. and with harry and meghan it's been pretty much the same. and now today was the big day and i have some thoughts y'all.


first one of my favorite things about harry and meghan as a couple is that they have not hidden how infatuated with each other they are. when he looks at her, when she looks at him, you feel the sexual connection between them viscerally. it's crazy hot. it's swoonworthy because we all fantasize about a man (or woman or person whatever is your jam) looking at us like that. she is the only person in the room for him. and he's it for her. and i was genuinely thrilled for them on their wedding day even though these peaple are almost like fictional characters for me.

i have to say i thought that most people looked good. unfortunately, though meghan's make up was exquisite, the fit of her dress was a disaster. like okay maybe she was aiming to go for super different from kate's dress. and i like the idea and concept behind the dress. i'm just not in love with the execution. a structured, simple dress needed to fit perfectly. and this dress did not.

from the neckline up, meghan markle looked fantastic. but the dress material was unforgiving and super crinkly and it was just too big along the torso and the arms, the poor fit impacting the dress's movement. in pictures it doesn't seem as badly fitted as it is.


but i just don't love it. however, these two crazy kids are clearly super hot for each other and care not at all what i think. so it's all good. i think they're going to go practice making babies.

Friday, May 18, 2018

Seriously romantic: hedging his bets by laura carter

book three in the brits in manhattan series, hedging his bets, has drew's little brother jake front and center with his commitment-phobic roommate jess.

these two are kind of dumb, and i mean this in the nicest possible way, because they are damn likable and funny and just a pleasure to read about. but they are also impossibly stupid because they are so all in with each other from the get-go. jake and jess have this friends-with-benefits-only-when-we're-drunk relationships that is a cover for the fact that they are really in a relationship.

when jake's ex is going to be around for his planned vacation with his family in the hamptons, he convinces jess to join him. it's not a fake relationship story, she's there for moral support. everyone knows they say they are just friends, but everyone also knows they are totally into each other and can't get out of their own way.

the novel is about them figuring out their baggage and finding a way to move foward in a way that lets them acknowledge how they feel. and it's all really enjoyable.

i don't know if there are more stories planned. is it wrong if part of me would like a marty and sarah story? like maybe there was something more going on there?

**hedging his bets will publish on may 22, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/kensington books (lyrical caress) in exchange for my honest review.